4K Ultra HD + Blu-ray + Digital |  Disney  | 2019 |  103 min |  Rated G |  February 25, 2020

Director:    Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee (XXX)

Starring:   Kristen Bell, Idina Menzel, Josh Gad, Jonathan Groff, Rachel Matthews


Codec: HEVC / H.265

Resolution: Upscaled 4K (2160p)


Aspect ratio: 2.39:1

Original aspect ratio: 2.39:1


English: Dolby Atmos

English: Dolby TrueHD 7.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)

French: Dolby Digital Plus 7.1

Spanish: Dolby Digital Plus 7.1

Japanese: Dolby Digital Plus 7.1

| Film Synopsis |

“In Frozen II, the answer to why Elsa was born with magical powers is calling her and threatening her kingdom. Together with Anna, Kristoff, Olaf and Sven, she sets out on a dangerous but remarkable journey.”

| Video |

"Frozen II" is rendered from a 2K DI and up-converted to 4K. The film looks  fantastic and a clear jump from the Blu-ray where you get an enhanced crispness.  Disney’s 2160p upscale uses HDR10 high dynamic range to good effect.

| Audio |

The Dolby Atmos track fares a little bit better than the 7.1 DTS-HD MA mix from the Blu-ray. Elsa works the magic in a 360 degree arena with every corner providing some overtime to make the movie come to life. Vocals are clear and crisp.

| Special Features |
  • Sing Along with the Movie: As the film plays, song lyrics appear on-screen, karaoke style. This feature is available under the "Play" menu screen option.

  • Outtakes: Humorous moments from the voice recording sessions.

  • Did You Know??? : Fun facts about, and hidden secrets found in, the film.

  • The Spirits of Frozen 2 : A look at the well researched spirits -- Air, Earth, Fire, and Water -- that appear in the film.

  • Scoring a Sequel: Inside the recording studio with Composer Christophe Beck, who discusses musical themes and merging song and score.

  • Deleted Scenes: Director Chris Buck and Writer/Director Jennifer Lee introduce. Included are Prologue, Secret Room, Elsa's Dream, Hard Nokk's, and A Place of Our Own. Scenes are presented in early conceptual stages.

  • Deleted Songs: Included are "Home" and "I Wanna Get This Right". Once again, Buck and Lee introduce and the scenes are presented in early conceptual stages.

  • Gale Tests: Exploring the process of constructing an "invisible" character. Included are Gale Test, essentially a finished animated shot, and Hand Drawn Gale Test, an early animated concept. Buck and Lee introduce.

  • "Into the Unknown" in 29 Languages: The song transitions from language to language, seamlessly.

  • Music Videos: Included are "Into the Unknown"  and "Lost in the Woods" (Weezer Version) .

  • Song Selection : Instantly jump to any of the film's songs with karaoke-style lyrics. Included are "All Is Found", "Some Things Never Change", "All is Found Reprise", "Into the Unknown", "When I Am Older", "Lost in the Woods", "Show Yourself", and "The Next Right Thing".

| Overall Reaction |

Disney made a great choice in putting this on 4K Ultra-HD as it both looks and sounds amazing.  I really enjoyed my time with "Frozen 2".

Summary (out of 5)

Film:  4.0   Video:  4.5    Audio:  3.5    Extras:  3.0    Overall:  4.0